Skip to nav Skip to content

Society Awards

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

Recognize the Outstanding Work of your Colleagues

IDSA’s Society Awards celebrate the impactful accomplishments of our members. These awards are a meaningful way to recognize your fellow IDSA members for their incredible work that can be seen locally and around the globe crossing the vast spectrum of infectious disease. We look to recognize stellar clinicians, preeminent teachers, and influential researchers.

This year, the society will recognize members’ outstanding response to the COVID-19 pandemic, specifically in two award categories -- the Society Citation and the Clinical Practice Innovation Award.

Nominations for the 2020 awards will be reviewed by the Society Awards Committee and a final recommendation for each award will be made to the IDSA Board of Directors for approval. IDSA members who are currently serving on the IDSA Board of Directors are not eligible to be nominated for Society Awards.

Each award recipient will receive a $1,500 honorarium and will be reimbursed for IDWeek travel expenses to include coach airfare and one-night lodging to attend the award presentation.

Alexander Fleming Award

The Alexander Fleming Award for lifetime achievement is granted to an IDSA member or fellow in recognition of a career that reflects major contributions to the acquisition and dissemination of knowledge about infectious diseases.

Read More and See All Alexander Fleming Award Winners

D.A. Henderson Award

New in 2017, The D.A. Henderson Award for Outstanding contributions to Public Health will recognize a lifetime of achievement in public health. Dr. Henderson’s role in leading the successful eradication of smallpox will stand forever as a shining example of the profound impact that infectious disease physicians and scientists can have in preventing disease and relieving human suffering. By naming this award in his honor we hope to inspire others to become champions for public health throughout the world.

Read More and See All D.A. Henderson Award Winners

Watanakunakorn Clinician Award

Named to honor the memory of Dr. Chatrchai Watanakunakorn, this award is given annually by the IDSA Education and Research Foundation to an IDSA member of fellow in recognition of outstanding achievement in the clinical practice of infectious diseases.

Read More and See All Watanakunakorn Clinician Award Winners

Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award

Named to honor the late past-president Walter E. Stamm, MD, FIDSA, this award was created to recognize individuals who have served as exemplary mentors and is presented to an IDSA member or fellow who has been exceptional in guiding professional growth of infectious diseases professionals.

Read More and See all Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award Winners

Oswald Avery Award for Early Achievement

The Oswald Avery Award for Early Achievement recognizes outstanding achievement in an area of infectious diseases by an individual member or fellow of IDSA who is 45 or younger (on December 31 of the year preceding the IDWeek at which the award is given). The award is based on overall achievement, not usually a single study.

Read More and See all Oswald Avery Award for Early Achievement Winners

Clinical Practice Innovation Award

The Clinical Practice Innovation Award will be awarded to members who devote the majority of their time to patient care and who have significantly advanced the clinical practice of infectious diseases within the last five years. This may be accomplished through innovation in clinical practice design or management, or advocacy on the behalf of IDSA that fosters change to better recognize the value of infectious diseases practice.

Read More and See All Clinical Practice Innovation Award Winner

Society Citation Award

The Society Citation is a discretionary award given in recognition of exemplary contribution to IDSA, and outstanding discovery in the field of infectious diseases, or a lifetime of outstanding achievement. More than one award may be given each year.

Read More and See all Society Citation Award Winners

Clinical Teacher Award

The Clinical Teacher Award honors a career involved in teaching clinical infectious diseases to fellows, residents, or medical students and recognizes excellence as a clinician and motivation to teach the next generation.

Read More and See all Clinical Teacher Award Winners

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.