Skip to nav Skip to content

Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

IDSA announces the recipients of its Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence (CoE) Designation

See the full list of CoE designations.

Our Vision

IDSA developed the Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence Program to promote excellence in optimizing antimicrobial use and combating antimicrobial resistance (AMR) by identifying institutions that effectively demonstrate these activities. The IDSA AS Centers of Excellence program aligns with evidence-based national guidelines such as the IDSA-SHEA guidelines and CDC's Core Elements of Hospital Antibiotic Stewardship Programs.

The Importance of Antimicrobial Stewardship

  • Each year, more than 700,000 individuals die due to antimicrobial resistance (AMR) infections.
  • IDSA has promoted antimicrobial stewardship (AS) as an avenue to combat AMR for many years.
  • The CDC and the Joint Commission have set standards for hospitals to have antimicrobial stewardship programs (ASPs) in place.
  • IDSA values recognizing those institutions with comprehensive ASPs in place, which can further guide other hospitals.

What is the Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence Program?

IDSA has created a program to designate Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence (CoE) across the U.S. health care system. The IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence Program builds upon the criteria set forth in the CDC Core Elements with additional aspects of meaningful differentiation. The Core Criteria for the IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence were developed by a work-group of ID physicians and ID-trained pharmacists.

How to Apply for a Centers of Excellence Designation

Step One:

Review the CDC Core Elements and IDSA's Core Criteria to ensure your organization meets all of the program eligibility requirements. Please download IDSA's Core Criteria and Application Requirements for reference.

Step Two:

Verify your organization’s use of Electronic Health Record (EHR) and/or Clinical Decision Support System (CDSS) as an integral component of the CoE.

Step Three:

If you feel you can attest and compile supporting documentation that applies to the Core Criteria, please email IDSA CoE staff. Upon receipt, you will be contacted by a CoE representative.

Step Four:

Collect all supporting documents, review and edit documents if needed.

Final Step:

Complete a brief application and contact AS CoE staff to upload supporting documents. If your institution meets the criteria for the Centers of Excellence program, there will be a $5,000 license fee for the 2-year designation.

Applications must be submitted by an active IDSA member.

Next application deadline: Cycle 1: January 31, 2023 | Cycle 2: July 1, 2023

The IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence program is intended to recognize health care facilities that implement and maintain highly effective ASPs. IDSA acknowledges that many institutions are part of health systems; however, the CoE Core Criteria was developed to assess the resources and capabilities of a single institution. The CoE designation will not apply to an entity that provides services that support, in whole or in part, the AS program of an institution; therefore, each facility is required to apply on an individual facility basis and subject to separate licensing fees.

For additional information, please email

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.