Skip to nav Skip to content


August 15, 2018


25 Institutions Receive the IDSA ASP Centers of Excellence Designation

IDSA has announced the latest recipients of its Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence (CoE) designation. The program, launched in 2017, recognizes institutions that have created stewardship programs led by infectious diseases physicians and ID-trained pharmacists that are of the highest quality and have achieved standards established by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

IDSA congratulates each of the institutions receiving this designation:

Barnes-Jewish Hospital
St. Louis, MO

Children's Hospital of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI

Cleveland Clinic’s Main Campus
Cleveland, OH

Denver Health Medical Center
Denver, CO

Hackensack University Medical Center
Hackensack, NJ

Montefiore Hospital – Moses Campus
Bronx, NY

Montefiore Hospital - New Rochelle
New Rochelle, NY

New York Presbyterian Hospital - The University Hospital of Columbia and Cornell
New York, NY

Orlando Regional Medical Center 
Orlando, FL

Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Hershey, PA

Roper St. Francis Hospital
Charleston, SC

Rose Medical Center
Denver, CO

Rush University Medical Center
Chicago, IL

Saint Joseph Hospital 
Lexington, KY 

South Nassau Communities Hospital
Oceanside, NY 

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
Memphis, TN

Stanford Children’s Hospital
Palo Alto, CA 

Tufts Medical Center
Boston, MA

University of California, Los Angeles - UCLA Health 
Los Angeles, CA

University Medical Center - New Orleans
New Orleans, LA

University Medical Center – Texas
Lubbock, TX

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center - Shadyside
Pittsburgh, PA

University of Wisconsin Hospital
Madison, WI

Virginia Commonwealth University Health
Richmond, VA

Womack Army Medical Center
Ft. Bragg, NC

“Each year, more than 700,000 people worldwide die due to antimicrobial resistant infections. Antimicrobial resistance is one of the greatest threats facing healthcare on a global, national and individual level. IDSA has had a longstanding commitment to fighting antimicrobial resistance through its research, education, training, and policy efforts. The Centers of Excellence program recognizes institutions that share our commitment by establishing antimicrobial stewardship programs that foster optimal therapies that protect patients from dangerous antimicrobial resistant infections while safeguarding our vulnerable drug supply. IDSA is proud to partner with each of these institutions in turning the tide against antimicrobial resistance,” said IDSA President Paul Auwaerter, MD, MBA, FIDSA.

The IDSA CoE program places emphasis on an institution’s ability to implement stewardship protocols using its electronic health record system and providing ongoing education to its medical staff. A workgroup of infectious diseases physicians and ID-trained pharmacists developed the core criteria for the CoE program building upon the criteria detailed in the CDC’s Core Elements of Hospital Antibiotic Stewardship Programs.

All health systems are welcome to apply for the IDSA CoE designation and can learn more about the criteria at

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.