Skip to nav Skip to content


May 1, 2019


Congratulations to the IDSA Member ACP Award Recipients

ACIP Awards Recipients.jpg

Cynthia Sears, MD, FIDSA; David Henderson, MD, FIDSA and Shyam Kottilil, MBBS, PhD, FIDSA Honored by ACP

Each year, the American College of Physicians collects nominations for awards and masterships to recognize excellence and distinguished contributions to internal medicine. This year, infectious diseases was very well represented among those recognized. IDSA congratulates each of the recipients.

IDSA President, Cynthia Sears, MD, FIDSA, Professor of Medicine at Johns Hopkins University, received the Harriet P. Dustan Award for Science as Related to Medicine which is bestowed for outstanding work which has been nationally or internationally recognized.

David Henderson, MD, FIDSA, Deputy Director of Clinical Care at National Institutes of Health received the Alvan R. Feinstein Award which is given to an American physician who has made a major contribution to the science of patient care in activities defined as clinical epidemiology or clinimetrics, involving the direct study of patients' clinical conditions. 

Shyam Kottilil, MBBS, PhD, FIDSA, Chief of ID at the University of Maryland, received the Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award from The Rosenthal Family Foundation, given to a physician-scientist, clinician, or scientific group whose recent innovative work is making a notable contribution to improve clinical care in the field of internal medicine.

Lawrence “Bopper” Deyton, MD, Professor of Medicine at George Washington University School of Medicine received the James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine.

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.